Day of Mourning

Day of Mourning Logo

April 28 has been designated the Day of Mourning, a time when workers, families, and employers across Canada come together to remember those who were injured, disabled, or have lost their lives to work-related incidents or occupational diseases. In 1984, the Canadian Labour Congress first declared April 28th Canada’s Day of Mourning. 2018 marks its 34th anniversary. Every year, the ACSA and its eight Regional Safety Committees co-host public ceremonies to honour the occasion. At each of the ceremonies and in workplaces across the nation, people observe a moment of silence at 11 o’clock.

It is as much a day to commemorate those workers whose lives have been lost or injured as it is a reminder to strengthen our resolve and establish safer work practices and conditions. Together we can work toward a safer workplace for all Albertans.

Information on events taking place across the province in 2018 will be made available on this page in due course.

Day of Mourning Activities in Your Region



The Calgary Day of Mourning Ceremony
Saturday April 28th 2018 at 10:45 a.m.
SAIT Orpheus Theatre

For more information contact



Ball Hockey Tournament & Commemoration
Saturday April 28th 2018 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Edmonton Sportsdome
10104 – 32 Ave

Register before April 17th by downloading and filling out these forms

For more information contact


Grande Prairie

Memorial Service
Friday April 27th 2018 at 10:45 a.m.
Safety City
10318 – 92 Street

For more information contact



Memorial Service
Saturday April 28th 2018 at 11:45 a.m.
CUPE Memorial at Mountain View Cemetery

For more information contact



Memorial Service
Friday April 27th 2018 at 9:30 a.m.
Lloydminster City Hall

For more information contact


Parkland (Red Deer)

Memorial Service
Friday April 27th 2018 at 10:45 a.m.
Red Deer City Hall – west side, south steps

For more information contact


Wood Buffalo (Ft. McMurray)

Memorial Service
Saturday April 28th 2018 at 10:30 a.m.
Howard Pew Park, Waterways

For more information contact