Construction Safety Associations across Canada sign national agreement for NCSO

The heads of Canada’s provincial and territorial construction safety associations signed a national agreement to meet the new National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO™) standard at this year’s annual meeting for the Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations (CFCSA).

The delegation met in Calgary over three days to discuss key issues and determine pathways forward for national programs, such as COR and now the NCSO™.
Signatories to the agreement included*:

  • Alberta Construction Safety Association
  • British Columbia Construction Safety Alliance
  • Construction Safety Association of Manitoba
  •  Heavy Construction Safety Association of Saskatchewan
  •  Infrastructure Health and Safety Association
  •  WORKSAFELY – Manitoba Heavy Construction Association
  •  New Brunswick Construction Safety Association
  •  Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Safety Association
  •  Northern Safety Network Yukon
  •  Northern Safety Association
  • Saskatchewan Construction Safety Association
*With the exception of Nova Scotia and Quebec

A national standard will ensure a cooperative and mutually beneficial process for recognition of all NCSO™ certifications between the members of the CFCSA, regardless of the jurisdiction in which the designation was originally awarded.

New NCSO standards brings changes to experience, training, practical elements, expiration/renewal and reciprocity recognition. The official agreement will be made available in conjunction with the launch of these changes, taking place on July 1, 2017. In the meantime, to find out more details, please download our Information Sheet and FAQ Document from our website.


Share this article:
Subscribe to our newsletter