Congratulations to the

2021 ACSA Achievement Award Recipients

The ACSA Achievement Awards recognize deserving health and safety leaders who make a difference in their workplace or community. This year, the 2020 ACSA Achievement Awards were presented virtually at the 2021 ACSA Conference.

Your ACSA would like to thank each of the award recipients, ACSA Board members, Regional Safety Committee members, and ACSA staff for making this year’s awards presentation a success.


2021 NCSO™ of the Year


  2021 HSA of the Year
Kayla Smith Hector Tierney

2021 Trailblazer Award Recipients


Spring Creek Mountain Village Inc.
Award accepted by:
Sandra Fleming,
on behalf of Terry Burch and Andrew Lomas

Calgary Regional Safety Committee

Cremac Metal Products Ltd.
Award accepted by:
Jeff McInnis and Tyson Luke

Parkland Regional Safety Committee

AirCon Technologies of Fort McMurray Ltd.
Award accepted by:
Tracy Mullaly and Liam Burgess

Wood Buffalo Regional Safety Committee

Badger Daylighting Limited Partnership
Award accepted by:
Tony Abrantes and Bob Bolotinuk

ECO Groundworks
Award accepted by:
Floyd House and Bruce Smith

Edmonton Regional Safety Committee

Buffalo Lake Development Corp.
Award accepted by:
Mariette Boucher and Pamela Cardinal

Stuart Olson Industrial Services Ltd.
Award accepted by:
Andrea Litke and Patty Brown

Lakeland Regional Safety Committe


2021 Pacesetter Award Recipients

Trevor Wieler

Calgary Regional Safety Committee

Jenn Currie

Edmonton Regional Safety Committee

Sheri Mathieu

Lethbridge Regional Safety Committee

Tim Cassidy

Parkland Regional Safety Committee

Catherine Connauton

Wood Buffalo Regional Safety Committee


The four award categories are:

  • The Trailblazer Award recognizes organizations that demonstrate their commitment to enhancing workplace safety and their dedication in promoting health and safety within the communities they serve. The award is presented in two categories: small/mid-sized (less than 30 employees) and large (30 or more employees).
  • The Pacesetter Award recognizes safety professionals for their outstanding service to their Regional Safety Committees (RSCs), and for their commitment to and leadership in promoting health and safety within their communities.
  • The National Construction Safety Officer™ (NCSO™) of the Year and Health & Safety Administrator (HSA) of the Year awards recognize individuals who hold the NCSO™ or HSA designations and have built exceptional health and safety careers in construction by managing health and safety projects or initiatives, and by participating in extracurricular activities, such as training and volunteering, to enhance workplace health and safety.

To stay current on ACSA updates, follow us on social media and subscribe to the Your ACSA Update e-newsletter.